•  

    Pageant of the Arts 2018: Edward Hopper

    "Nighthawks"   

     
     
     1942 oil on canvas
     
    1942 oil on canvas painting      Art Institute of Chicago 
     
     

    "If you could say it in words there would be no reason to paint."  

                                                                               - Edward Hopper

     

    36th Pageant of the Arts

     September 2017

     

     The Pageant dates are listed below to assist you in scheduling for the Winter/Spring rehearsals.  Pageant rehearsals will be held on Thursdays from 2:20 to 3:30 p.m. Please take note of the extended rehearsal times during Pageant practices in April.

     

    Absences create choreography challenges as well as supervision challenges which is a safety issue. By giving you this calendar early in the year, it will provide your child ample time to make arrangements to be at every rehearsal. Doctor’s or dentist appointments, sports practices or games, scouting events, or birthday parties, will not be excusable absences and are not acceptable reasons to leave a rehearsal early. Students will be allowed only two absences. Unless your child is absent from school, they will be expected to be at EVERY rehearsal, especially during the last week, Performance Week. It is a huge commitment on the part of the students and teachers. Please mark your calendars carefully,

     

    **If there are any challenges or concerns, please contact me at lobert@losal.org prior to any rehearsal date.

     

         We hope your child will join us for the 36th Pageant of the Arts!        Leslie Obert

     

    Mark your calendar carefully:

    Wednesday, November 29th – 1st day of Pageant – Informational only

     (Conference Week – meeting will be held to pass out paperwork – no dancing)

    Auditorium 12:40-1:15 p.m.

    Thursday, December   7 – Pageant in Gymnasium

    Thursday, December 14 – Pageant in Gymnasium

    Thursday, December 21 – No Pageant - Winter Break

    Thursday, January 11 – Pageant in Gymnasium

    Thursday, January 18 – Pageant in Gymnasium

    Thursday, January 25 – Pageant in the Gymnasium

    Thursday, February 1 – Auditions during Pageant in the Gym

    Thursday, February 8 – Auditions during Pageant in the Gym (Staff Dev. Day 2/9)

    Thursday, February 15 – Announce Casting-Pageant in the Gym

    Thursday, February 22 – Pageant in the Gym

    Thursday, March 1 – Pageant in the Gym

    Thursday, March 8 – No Pageant – Outdoor Science School

    Thursday, March 15 – No Pageant - Parent-Teacher Conferences     

    Thursday, March 22 – Pageant in Auditorium (“Hopper” cast only-until 4:00 pm)

    Thursday, March 29 – No Pageant – Open House

    Thursday, April 5 – No Pageant - Spring Break

    *Tuesday, April 10 - Pageant in Auditorium

    Thursday, April 12 – Pageant in Auditorium whole cast until 4:00 pm– last practice before Performance Week

     

    Performance Week – ALL rehearsals and performances are mandatory

    Monday, April 16 – Staging Rehearsal until 4:30 p.m.  (no costumes unless requested by dance coach)

    Tuesday, April 17 – Technical Rehearsal until 5:00 p.m. (no costumes unless requested by dance coach)

    Wednesday, April 18 – Dress Rehearsal1:00-4:00 p.m.

    (posed photos during rehearsal) Bring costumes in a secured bag

    Performances

    Thursday, April 19 – (morning) Primary Grade School Performance, 8:15 a.m.

    Friday, April 20 – (morning) Upper Grade School Performance, 8:15 a.m.

    AND 7:00 p.m. Evening Performance, 6:30 p.m. check-in

    Saturday, April 21 – 7:00 p.m. Evening Performance, 6:30 p.m. check-in

    Thursday, April 26 – Cast Party - Costume check-in – Please bring CLEANED

    --cookies, & kudos from 2:20 -3:00 (gym)

     

     

    **Contact Leslie Obert with questions at lobert@losal.org

    The school office cannot answer specific questions regarding our Pageant of the Arts